Sample recitals…


Musical portraits of women


The concert program represents “ the musical painting” of women by French harpsichordists of the 18th century. These composers sought to capture their female subjects in miniature portraits, which was fashionable at the time in France. Among the miniatures' heroines there are a number of influential figures—princesses,

protectors and students (a princess Maria Leszczyńska and her daughter Victoria, well known protector Madame de Caze),but also friends and acquaintances of the composers.


Jacques Duphly - La Victoire

François Couperin - La Princesse Marie

François Couperin - Soeur Monique-Rondeau

François Couperin  -  Les Grâces Naturèles. Suite de la Bontems

Jean-Philippe Rameau - L'Egyptienne  

François Couperin - L’Angelique

François Couperin -  Les Nonetes   

 François Couperin - Les Agrémens

François Couperin - Les Folies françoises, ou Les Dominos

Claude-Bénigne Balbastre -  La de Caze 

Claude-Bénigne Balbastre – La Suzanne


Philip Czapłowski Hanna ( 2018)






Johann Sebastian Bach ‐ Clavier‐Übung II: Italian Concerto and French Style Overture


This recital presents works from a collection published by Bach in 1735, the second part of a cycle dedicated to

keyboards—Clavier Übung II—in which the composer presents the two dominant national styles of his time, the Italian and French. The Italian Concerto and the French‐style Overture are virtuoso forms intended for a two‐manual harpsichord. In Scheibe's review, we find words of appreciation for the value of the work: "It takes such a great master of music as Mr.Bach, who almost all alone took over the keyboard instruments" (J.A. Scheibe, 1739)




A slice of now

Philip Czapłowski ‐ Hanna (2018)

Philip Czapłowski ‐ Three preludes (2019)

Philip Czapłowski – Prelude IV Homage to Jan Sobieski (2019)

Tomasz Kamieniak ‐ Sieben Bagatellen fur Zembalo op.70 (2019)

Tomasz Kamieniak – Vier Werke fur Zembalo op.44 (2010/2011)


This is a recital with works written by outstanding contemporary composers: Philip Czapłowski and Tomasz Kamieniak.

The first four are pieces dedicated to Hanna Balcerzak, written specifically for a copy of a historical instrument, but

showing its modern face, and a new tonal color and temperament.



The virtuosic harpsichord


Over a period of three centuries, starting from the 15th and continuing well into the 18th century, the harpsichord earned a reputation as the most versatile of all instruments, in both solo and ensemble contexts. The silvery clarity of its sound

and the variety of the subtle colours of its registers were as ideally suited to ornamental virtuosity as they were to elaborate polyphonic fugues. This recital contains solo pieces written by undisputed masters of the instrument: Bach, Scarlatti, Soler, Francois and Louis Couperin, Rameau and Balbastre. All of these pieces display the influence of the concertante style, either by adopting aspects of the concerto (albeit in a solo setting), or by assuming particular expressive characteristics of the genre that enable the composers to present the most impressive technical and sonic

qualities of the harpsichord.

Johann Sebastian Bach ‐ Concerto nach Italienischem Gusto BWV 971

Georg Friedrich Haendel – Air mit variationem HWV 430

François Couperin Le Grand ‐ Le Tic‐Toc‐Choc, ou Les Maillotins Rondeau

Jean‐Philippe Rameau ‐ Les Trois MainsNouvelles Suites de Pièces de Clavecin

Louis Couperin ‐ Passacaille in C

Claude‐Benigne Balbastre ‐ La Suzanne

Domenico Scarlatti:Sonata in A K.24 L.495

Sonata in d K.9 L.413

Sonata – Toccata in d K.141 L.422

Sonata in g “Cat’s Fugue” K.30 L.499

Padre Antonio Soler ‐ Fandango R.146




The Gajeckie Sisters D u o


Hanna Balcerzak & Aleksandra Gajecka-Antosiewicz

The Gajeckie Sisters Duo was founded by twins Aleksandra Gajecka-Antosiewicz and Hanna Balcerzak. They have given concerts in numerous countries including France,Germany, Norway, and the UK, while at home in Poland their many concerts have been broadcast by national radio and television (TVP).The sisters studied at the Grażyna and Kiejstut Bacewicz Music Academy in Łódź with pianist Marek Drewnowski and harpsichordists Leszek Kędracki (Hanna) and Ewa Piasecka (Aleksandra). Aleksandra also studied contemporary harpsichord music at Mozarteum University in Salzburg with Elżbieta Chojnacka, and in 2015 completed her PhD in harpsichord performance. The dissertation, supervised by Ewa Piasecka, addressed technical and expressive issues in contemporary Polish

harpsichord music. Both sisters have also studied with numerous artists including Elżbieta Stefańska, Czesław Stańczyk, Elena Riu, Colin Tilney, Mark Kroll and Ketil Haugsand. Both as duo and soloists they have received scholarships including those from the Dartington International Summer School (UK) and The Ringve Museum

(Norway).In 1992 they participated in a Polish television broadcast along with the music critic Jan Weber, playing their own four-hand compositions. The duo won the special prize (a series of recitals in France) at the 5th International Hofmann and Paderewski Piano Festival in Nałęczów. Their repertoire includes pieces for various combinations of pianos and harpsichords, and ranges from early to contemporary music. Hanna and Aleksandra also perform as

soloists and chamber musicians with a number of other ensembles.

Repertoire of 18th Century compositions for harpsichord duo, includes:

François Couperin - Neuviême Ordre - Allemande

Johann Sebastian Bach - Concerto C Major, BWV 1061

Johann Christoph Friedrich Bach Sonata A Major,  W. XIII
 Wilhelm Friedemann Bach - Sonata (Concerto) F Major,  F. 10
Johann Christian Bach - Sonata G Major, op. 15 nr 5
Johann Ludwig Krebs - Concerto A Minor